Why we shouldn’t refuse help

As far as I can remember, it has always been difficult for me to ask for help or accepting help from others. It can be about simple things, or the bigger issues, it does not really matter what it is about. I just always feel the need to be able to do everything on my own. I see myself as quite a strong person and have always been able to figure things out on my own, but I also sometimes feared that accepting help would made me look weak or at least weaker than I wanted to be perceived as. I guess it mainly is about protecting my own ego, in a way.

5bf154fca5788b42a78a2d746d207f67I started to think about how I feel when I offer and give help and I always feel very useful and happy when I get to help someone else, in any way. I then came to realize that accepting help, especially when someone is offering it, can be a gift to the other person as well. It gives the other person the opportunity to show how much they want to support you and how much they care and can give them a higher sense of pride for themselves. I also think that by often refusing help, I have unintentionally hurt other people and unnecessarily held them at a distance by shutting them out in this way. Predominantly because I seldom explained why I did not accept their offers.  But I would like to change this up a bit by accepting help more often, mainly from the ones who truly care for me. Not because I really need it, but because it will strengthen the bond.

I know I am not the only one that feels strongly about refusing help from others. I have often heard other people saying the same thing. But I think that looking at it from this new perspective, could also give other people some insights about it and perhaps change their mind about always refusing help.

So lets accept help more often, so we can help others…by letting them help us!

Leave a Reply

